July 31: I am Blessed

This time, I have no idea where to start. I just had the most wonderful birthday of my life, and I feel so grateful and so blessed to have spent the day the way I did. Today I turned 21. Scary, I know, as people still ask if I’m my sixteen year old sister. Apparently not. I really only wanted to do two things: go for a bike ride and then get mini cupcakes for a dollar each at Miglet’s, an AMAZING gluten-free bakery.

My mom and I started our ride on the Iron Horse Trail in downtown Danville, and went south for a while. It was less beautiful than I expected, but I love the freedom of a bike…every mile you go is something you have created, and that to me is beautiful. We rode back to the start and went north. This section was INCREDIBLE. Trees, trees, and more trees, as well as hills and everyone else out, active on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon.

When we went to grab some cupcakes, my mom had them bring out a cake made of cupcakes that she had ordered behind my back. Everything she did this weekend made me feel loved and blessed and grateful to have such a wonderful woman in my life. I don’t know how I can thank her enough, I’ll keep trying though 🙂

Afterward, my mom, dad, sister, aunt, and I went to NOLA’s, a Palo Alto restaurant that brought me back to New Orleans and one of the best days of my life. Having all of my family there, and my sister next to me, just made things seem so perfect, we were all there, whole, and laughing. Plus I got carded and drank my first Hurricane! Last time I was in New Orleans, I got kicked out of everywhere just for being nineteen.

I’m home now, grateful for all the love and kindness that I’ve been shown, not just today, but every day of my life, and I’m doubting that nothing is perfect, because today was about as close as it could get. Perfectly simple, with my family around me. I mean I did cut myself shaving today, that could be the .01% that protects the “nothing is perfect” rule, but a bandaid and my dad’s sense of humor took care of that.

P.S. Happy Birthday to Harry Potter, Neville Longbottom, and J.K. Rowling! That in itself has me constantly thrilled 🙂

Bourbon Street at Night

Namaste<3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment